Search in:

    Norman A. Sugarman Children’s Biography Award

    View the 2014 Norman A. Sugarman Distinguished Biography List

    Norman A. Sugarman Children's Biography AwardThe Norman A. Sugarman Children’s Biography Award was established in 1998 to honor excellence in the field of biography for children. The Sugarman Award was established by Joan G. Sugarman in memory of her husband, Norman A. Sugarman, a prominent tax attorney who was born and raised in Cleveland and later served in Washington, D.C. The Sugarman Award is given biennially by Cleveland Public Library and presented to a writer and/or illustrator of a new biography for children’s grades Kindergarten through 8th grade. The Award is presented in April in alternate years in celebration of National Library Week. It is for a work published in the previous two calendar years.

    In 1984, Joan G. Sugarman donated a Fantasy Carousel designed by renowned sculptor Star Liana York. York assembled in the Carousel a special place in which the images of a world where fantastic and mythological creatures appear in a variety of interpretations. Her monsters, mermaids and dragons belong to a realm of dark enchantments and Sugarman felt the Library was also special. It was a fitting place for this elegantly crafted piece, a place where young minds could reflect and learn about the natural world with humor, fear, mischief and, of course, joy.

    Norman A. Sugarman Joan G. Sugarman
    Norman A. Sugarman Joan G. Sugarman

    Norman A. Sugarman Award Criteria

    • The award is presented to the writer of a new biography for children's grades Kindergarten-8.
    • The award is limited to biographies based on original research and documentation. Awards shall be limited to biographies written by residents or citizens of the United States and first published in the United States.
    • Nominations for the award are solicited through publishers, libraries, and schools; from children and adults, as well as submitted by an Award Committee.
    • An Award Committee appointed by the Cleveland Public Library evaluates the nominations and selects a winner. The Committee of not more than nine (9) persons includes but is not limited to representatives of local educational institutions and libraries. The Committee may include two (2) Cleveland Public Library youth services librarians. The Cleveland Public Administrator serves in an ex-officio capacity.

    View the 2014 Norman A. Sugarman Awards and Honors Book List 

    2014 Award Winners


     Read more about this years winners on the Anisfield-Wolf Awards site!


    2014 Honors Winners




     For more information about this award, please contact
    the Youth Services Department at 216-623-2834 or