Search in:

    Collection Highlights

    Blog Posts

    Sep 14

    Written by: Michael Dalby 9/14/2007 5:22 AM 

    Anisfield-Wolf Award medallionOn Thursday, September 6, 2007, four Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards winners were honored at the Cleveland Play House. The winners were: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, fiction, co-winner for Half of a Yellow Sun ; Martha Collins, poetry, co-winner for Blue Front ; Scott Reynolds Nelson, winner for Non-Fiction Steel Drivin' Man ; and, Taylor Branch, won a Lifetime Achievement Award. The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards-- named for Edith Anisfield Wolf, a former Cleveland Public Library Board of Trustees member (1943-1946)--recognizes recent books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism, and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human culture. The Anisfield-Wolf Collection at the Cleveland Public Library's Special Collections Department features a copy of every Anisfield-Wolf Award winner from the first award in 1936 through today's most recent winners, some as signed copies. Visit the Special Collection Department to view any of these copies.


    Your name:
    Add Comment   Cancel